Teams from across Ontario compete in Todd’s bonspiel

Submitted by Mary Hillaby

Published Feb. 14 2017

There were 96 curlers on 24 teams from eight visiting curling clubs who came together with members of the Haliburton club to participate in the annual Todd’s Independent Mixed Bonspiel from Feb. 3 to 5. Clubs being represented were Oshawa York Newmarket Richmond Hill Dixie Milton Tam Heather Thornhill Hamilton Victoria and Haliburton.

Members of the curling teams and spectators had an enjoyable weekend of curling fellowship fun and food. Many thanks to sponsors Todd’s Independent; Phyllis Woodcock a lifetime member of the club; Superior Propane; Minden Subaru; and Re/Max North Country Reality Inc.
The final game of the A event was very exciting to watch. The team from York skipped by Darrell Cain vice Sharon Cain second Frank Coschi and lead Helen Baker/Nancy Coschi took the trophy. Runners up were from Hamilton Victoria skipped by John Smillie (who was an active member of the Haliburton club) vice Cheryl Smillie second Henry Lenarduzzi and lead Pauline Lenarduzzi.

Another great game was between Haliburton and Bradford for the B event trophy. The team skipped by Lynn Williamson vice Roberta Lauzon second Stephane Lauzon and lead Maria Williamson took home the trophy. Runners up were the Haliburton team of Mitch Stephen skip Wanda Ruddy Stephen vice Bruce Griffith second and lead Eva Griffith.
Winning team of the C event was a team from Oshawa skipped by Derek Ferlatte vice Kristy Seminsky second Mike Millar and lead Stephanie Ferlatte. Runners up were also from Oshawa Curling Club skipped by Geoff Campbell vice Janette Bulpit second Henry Cornelissen and lead Pauline Cornelissen.
Winning team of the D event was skipped by Jeff Barry vice Tracy Barry second Steve Ball and lead Heather Ball from the Oshawa curling club. Runner up was a team from the York club in Newmarket skipped by Rob Sommerville vice Maureen Campbell second Bob Campbell and lead Deb Sommerville.

Bonspiel convenor Mary Hillaby and her team of Bob Johnston Sue Mason Wendy Hewson and April Martin  thanks and recognizes the event's sponsors. Local businesses and individuals graciously contributed items. We thank them for their generous donations. Efforts from amazing kitchen helpers and many members of the Day Ladies league who baked goods and made sandwiches helped contribute to the spiel’s success.
All teams commented on the terrific ice surface that was maintained by ice technician John Watson and his team of Ron Draper and Mitch Stephen.
Congratulations to everyone and many teams said they would be back next year!