The 44th annual Highland Lassie Bonspiel held on Saturday March 2 brought 16 teams – nine from out of town and seven local teams – together at the Haliburton Curling Club./SUE TIFFIN Staff

Another successful year for Highland Lassie 

Published on March 12 2019

The 44th annual Highland Lassie Bonspiel held on Saturday March 2 was another successful event held at the Haliburton Curling Club. This year nine out of town teams from Port Perry York St. George’s Lindsay Stroud and London Highland were greeted by seven local teams. The committee comprised of Sue Mason Mary Hillaby Jackie Bradbury Wendy Hewson Ferne Taylor Jan Ashall Rachel O’Neill Laila Morse Alison Curtis Teresa Keefer Carol Krieger Marilyn Mackenzie Linda Boore Jane Jaycock and Janet Boyne organized a fantastic and eventful day.

The overall 2019 Highland Lassie winner was a team from Haliburton/Port Perry. Lynn Childs from Haliburton was the skip and along with Jane Johnston they included Lynn’s daughter Carolyn Childs and Kristy Wuorisalo from the Port Perry Curling Club. A team from St. George’s skipped by Debbie Dickenson scored first place honours in their draw. Roberta Lauzon from Stroud finished second along with Mary Auld from Lindsay. Settling in third place was a Haliburton team skipped by Wanda Stephen Alexis David Ginny Carmichael and Nancy Walker. Judy Carruthers and her team from Port Perry Curling Club also placed third in their draw.

Many thanks to our sponsor Mitch Stephen from TMS Services. Thanks to our servers who were very popular and very busy – Garth Krieger Dave Chevrefils Brian Hambly and Keith Clarkson. Del Watson our drawmaster certainly came clad in his Scottish ware.

The success of the bonspiel is the result of many helpful volunteers and individual/business donations. Jane Jaycock was instrumental in organizing all the prizes by creating stained glass pieces herself as well as baking all the cakes! She is a very talented person and a definite asset to our club.

Our ice technicians; Mitch Stephen Doug Wagg and Garth Krieger our drawmaster Del Watson and raffle donations by Head’s Up Hair Stylists Lisa Moss Country Rose Garden Jackie Bradbury Jan Ashall Halco The Source Cindy’s Lori Da Rosa Masters Book Store Highlands Little Theatre Marilyn Mackenzie Highlands Summer Festival Pump Shop Sir Sam’s Spa Eagle Lake Store Wind in the Willows Spa Fielding Estates Wines Konzelmann Winery Camp Wanakita V & S Country Pickins’ Touch of Class Spa Lolita Mitchell Suzanne’s Hair Design Jacqui Clarkson Joan Eyres Minden Wine Store Sir Sam’s Ski/Ride Jane Jaycock April Martin Lakeside Golf Course Cheryl Smillie Alison Curtis and Lia’s Glass Dreams.

Many thanks for a wonderful day. See you again next year.