Roberts becomes next mayor

By Jenn Watt

Published Oct. 23 2018

Voters delivered a major change to Dysart et al council on Monday Oct. 22 electing several new councillors and changing up the head of council.

Unofficial election results released Monday night show Andrea Roberts won the race for mayor of Dysart et al with 3445 votes. Incumbent mayor Murray Fearrey received 2513.

Patrick Kennedy was elected to the role of deputy mayor receiving 3248 votes. Dennis Casey also vying for that position received 2469 votes.

Ward 1 representation will remain the same with Nancy Wood-Roberts retaining her seat at the table. She received 589 votes. Her opponent Bram Lebo received 380 votes.

Larry Clarke was the winner for the Ward 2 seat bringing in 598 votes. David McKay received 520 votes and Mike Stinson received 465.

Tammy Donaldson kept her seat in Ward 3 with 370 votes. Her opponent Cindy Baumhour received 172.

Ward 4 was won by John Smith who received 1203 votes. Aaron Walker who was also campaigning for that job received 375.

Walt McKechnie the incumbent in Ward 5 kept his seat in a close race with Glenn Scott. McKechnie received 649 votes. Scott received 635.

Of 13424 registered voters 6059 cast a ballot – just more than 45 per cent.

Andrea Roberts said she thought voters were looking for change and a different direction.

“I’m excited to lead the next council” she said. “I’m thrilled with all the people that got elected.”

One of her priorities will be improving communication – part of that with seasonal residents. To that end she said she wants to hold town hall meetings at least once per year.

Planning and goal setting will be another priority when the new council meets she said.

On the topic of Murray Fearrey who has led Dysart et al for decades Roberts said she admired him and commended him for dedicating his life to public service.

“I didn’t run against him; I ran for myself” she said.

She said Fearrey had called her to wish her well.

With files from Darren Lum