Unofficial election results are in

Tuesday Oct. 23 2018

Results for the municipal election came in throughout Monday evening bringing change to some councils and keeping others much the same.

In Dysart et al a new head of council was elected with Andrea Roberts receiving more than 57 per cent of the vote ( 3445 votes) over incumbent mayor Murray Fearrey who received 2513 votes according to unofficial results.

Patrick Kennedy won the position of deputy mayor with 3248 votes in his favour. Dennis Casey received 2469 votes.

Elected to ward councillor positions: Nancy Wood-Roberts (Ward 1); Larry Clarke (Ward 2); Tammy Donaldson (Ward 3); John Smith (Ward 4); and Walt McKechnie (Ward 5).

Results came more slowly in Highlands East with winners announced at just before 1 a.m. on Oct. 23.

Incumbent Mayor Dave Burton kept his seat at the table receiving 1557 votes. His competitor Cheryl Ellis received 1211 according to unofficial results.

Elected to ward councillor positions: Cam McKenzie (Ward 1); Suzanne Partridge (Ward 2); Cec Ryall – acclaimed (Ward 3); Ruth Strong (Ward 4).

Mayor Brent Devolin will be returning to the council table in Minden Hills after receiving 1720 votes beating out next nearest competitor Wayne Hancock who received 1375 votes. Jarrett Campbell got 662 votes.

Lisa Schell will become deputy mayor of Minden Hills by acclamation.

In a close race incumbent Ron Nesbitt kept his seat as councillor at large receiving 1829 votes. John Teljeur received 51 fewer votes with 1778.

Elected to ward councillor positions: Bob Carter (Ward 1); Jennifer Hughey (Ward 1); Pam Sayne (Ward 2); Jean Neville (Ward 3).

Mayor Carol Moffatt was acclaimed in this election as were Liz Danielsen and Lisa Barry who will return as councillors in Ward 2.

Elected to ward councillor positions: Julia Shortreed (Ward 1); and Jennifer Dailloux (Ward 3).