Dysart forms economic development committee to draft plan

By Angelica Ingram

Following months of work towards building a local economic development plan the municipality has appointed a committee consisting of area community representatives.

The committee includes Reeve Murray Fearrey as ex-officio Deputy-reeve Andrea Roberts Councillor Tammy Donaldson Councillor Derek Knowles Pat Kennedy Bram Lebo Glenn Evans Linda Baumgartner John Patterson and Aaron Walker.

The first two meetings for the committee are scheduled to take place on Jan. 11 and Feb. 1 said Dysart chief administrative officer Tamara Wilbee in an email.

The goal of the committee is to finalize a draft plan to take to council at their February meeting wrote Wilbee.

“This plan is being developed currently with the help of Judy Coward our OMAFRA economic development advisor and is based entirely on the input received from the public sessions” wrote Wilbee.

The CAO said there will be more opportunity for members of the public to get involved with the plan and is excited about the progress the municipality has made and will continue to make.