The Red Hawks snowboarder Connor Brandon carves to the next gate during the COSSA Snowboarding Championship on Friday Feb. 19 at Sir Sam's Ski and Ride in Eagle Lake. There were 35 high school competitors from the Haliburton Highlands Secondary School Fenelon Falls Secondary School and Lindsay Collegiate Vocational Institute./DARREN LUM Staff

Red Hawks recognized for dedication and sportsmanship

By Darren Lum

Staff reporter

There wasn’t any audience applause. There weren’t any tearful acceptance speeches. There wasn’t any laughter from a crowd. What students do have is a lasting reminder of athletic excellence and commitment to sport through the Red Hawks Athletic Banquet held virtually this year.

The ceremony was completed over 16 days starting on June 4 posted to the school’s website for anyone to see.

During a year of labour disruptions and COVID-19 cancellations the Red Hawks fielded 15 teams. One COSSA championship was won by the men’s curling team who were unable to compete at OFSAA due to COVID-19. Two Kawartha team titles were won by girls field hockey and boys curling and one individual Kawartha title was won in cross-country. There were four OFSAA berths: two athletes from the wrestling team: Nic Graham and Eli Samson; and two from cross country teams: Isaac Little and Nick Phippen.

The junior boys volleyball team’s most improved player is setter Matthew Wilson and the MVP is Jackson Wilson.

The wrestling team named its MVP Nic Graham who earned an all-provincial berth and the rookie of the year award went to Levi Samson.

The Kawartha championship winning field hockey team named its MVPs Haley Boylan and Melissa

Brinkos including the MIP award for Emma Miller who was “red shirted” at the start of the year.
The junior boys basketball team’s MVPs are back court players Colin Glecoff and Jackson Wilson who led the team in scoring.

For the cross country team which sent two runners to the all-provincials their MVP is Isaac Little. Little was a Kawartha champ and third place finisher at COSSA which earned him an all-provincial berth.

The junior girls volleyball team’s MIP is Emma Miller and the coach’s award was earned by setter Emmerson Wilson.

The varsity boys football team’s offensive MVP is Cam Marra and the defensive MVP is Desi Davies.
The women’s hockey team coach Courtney Cook thanked Dani Smolen of Smolen Dentistry for sponsorship. She recognized the team as a whole for their ability to improve and to find the joy in playing. The coach also acknowledged how the team went from scoring its first goal last season to beating Fenelon Falls Secondary School this season.

The senior boys volleyball MVP is graduating student Liam Little.

The boys curling team of Jacob Dobson Owen Nicholls Corin Gervais and Liam Little won a provincial title taking the Ontario School Curling Provincial Championship title. With a Kawartha title and a repeat COSSA title this team earned an all-provincials berth at OFSAA but had their season ended due to COVID-19. The boys curling team’s rookie of the year is Owen Nichol and the team’s MVP is Dobson.

The girls rugby team included 27 members. Their MIP is Olivia Melle and MVP is graduating athlete Charlotte Paton.

The boys hockey team which gave its time helping to stack wood and raise money for the Heat Bank Haliburton County finished as a Kawartha championship finalist losing a close one in overtime after being down by three goals to St. Mary’s. Their offensive MVP is Braeden Robinson and its defensive MVP is Isaac Little.

The senior boys basketball team finished as COSSA semi-finalists and named their offensive MVP Joe Boice their defensive MVP Brian Kim and their leadership MVP Camden Marra.

The senior girls volleyball team’s MVP is Emma Casey who was an inspiration to coaches and teammates on and off the court.

The junior girls curling team of Holly Parish Kayla Switzer Harmony Moore and Jocelyn Chumbley finished third at the OSC regional event.

The senior team of Jessica Byers Mackenzie Tidey Savannah Byers and Hanna Lewis finished fourth at the OSC regionals.

The girls curling team’s rookie of the year was earned by Kayla Switzer while the MVP was won by Holly Parish.

The HHSS Kit Pizzey intramural participation award was given to Brian Kim and Desi Davies.
The cumulative awards which began in 1982 to recognize student involvement over the entire time at the school are earned through earning points by competing on teams competing on championship teams or individually participating in intramurals and athletic council participation. Due to the shortened athletic season point values were adjusted and will remain in place until a return to normal.

Minor award winners earned 15 points and five gold points. They are Alyssa Bogardis Haley Boylan Jessica Byers Brendan Coumbs Corin Gervais Ethan Glecoff Logan Heaven Danaya MacDuff Camden Marra Tyler Martin Alexius Mills Teo O’Malley Ruthie Parker Charlotte Paton Crystal Petry Carson Phillips Nick Phippen Braeden Robinson Ava Smith and Brooke Stover.

The major award winners are Rebecca Archibald Melissa Brinkos Emma Casey Desi Davies Jacob Dobson Brian Kim Isaac Little Zac Morissette and Nigel Smith.

The Impact Award is earned by the teacher who goes above and beyond and is apt for this year’s recipient who is Derek Little.

Presenter Janice Scheffee said he has “spent hundreds of hours on the field teaching mentoring and coaching his athletes. He has instilled the value of teamwork discipline commitment and respect in all his players over 23 years coaching the Red Hawk football program at HHSS. He believes every athlete has a place on his team and he took pride in the relationships he formed with his athletes. Winning was nice but losing to a better team with grace and humility were equally important.”

Past football coach and HHSS principal Gary Brohman said he knew him as a student teacher and co-coach.

“The saying ‘when the going gets tough the tough get going.’ Coach that’s you. That’s your career. You never give up. You always put a positive foot forward” he said.

The Female Rising Red Hawk award winner is Ava Smith and the Male Rising Red Hawk award winner is Nick Phippen.

The first time Colin Hood OFSAA school sport winners are Rebecca Archibald and Liam Little.

They demonstrated participation and leadership in all of sport at HHSS.

On the last two days the school’s athletes of the year were announced.

They are Emma Casey and Isaac Little who were chosen by the coaches for exhibiting character traits such as leadership qualities coachability a drive for team development commitment to developing and athletic potential.