Land trust chairwoman Mary-Lou Gerstl in pink addresses a group of people gathered to mark the 10-year anniversary of the donation of Norah's Island to the land trust. A partnership between the land trust and the Kennisis Lake Cottage Owners' Association has ensured the care and protection of the island. /JENN WATT Staff

Nominees announced for Haliburton Highlands Chamber of Commerce business awards gala 

The Haliburton Highlands Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce that 93 nominations have been received for 64 different businesses organizations and individuals in our community for this year’s Business and Community Achievement Awards Gala.

The list reflects the exceptional work being done by businesses organizations and individuals from right across the Haliburton Highlands. Both nominees and nominators do not have to be members of the Chamber of Commerce – this is truly meant to be a community celebration of excellence.

Thank you to everyone who took the time to submit a nomination and recognize a local business organization or individual for their hard work in 2015.

Business Achievement

• Smokin’ Jakes BBQ Shack

• Supertrax Media

• Chaulk Woodworking

• Haliburton Dance Academy

• Moose FM

Customer First – Business

• Big Hawk Lake Marina

• Chaulk Woodworking

• Haliburton Dance Academy

• Pine Reflections Gift & Garden Centre

• Ridgewood Ford

• Sunny Rock Bed & Breakfast

• Wintergreen Pancake Barn

• Danielle Meredith Photography

• Haliburton Chiropractic

• Pretty Paws

• Smokin’ Jakes BBQ Shack

• TD Bank

• Walker’s Home Hardware

Customer First – Employee

• Cody Cox (Todd’s Independent)

• Gail Crowe (Remedy’s RX)

• Heather Kennedy (The Highlander)

• Ian Anderson (Chaulk Woodworking)

• Jason Cochrane (Dollo’s Foodland)

• Jenny Smith (WAI Products)

• Marie Smith (Dymo Bus First Student)

• Sandra Stevens (Pinestone Resort)

• Terri Johnson (HHHS Long Term Care)

• Vicki Fraser (Haliburton County Public Library)

• Paul Walker (Walker’s Home Hardware)

• Stevi Young (Highland Glass & Windows)

• Ryan Urquhart (Halco Elctronics)

• Dave Adams (Sir Sam’s Inn)

Entrepreneur of the Year

• Brandi Hewson (WAI Products Ltd.)

• Jerry Walker (Walker’s Home Hardware)

• Trevor Chaulk (Chaulk Woodworking)

• Jim Love (Digital Reno)

• Joanne Sharpley (Joanne Sharpley’s Source for Sports)

• Shane Leach (Smokin’ Jakes BBQ Shack)

• Terri Matthews & Christoph Carl (Rhubarb Restaurant & Boshkung Brewing)

Highlander of the Year

• Aggie Tose

• Joanne Barnes

• Max Ward

• Fay Martin

• Tammy Rae

Innovation & Creativity

• Yours Outdoors

• Chaulk Woodworking

• Into the Blue Bakery

• Indigodragonfly

New Business

• ACM Designs

• BeBe Bartoons

• Cutting Edge Isabelles Hair Salon

• Fit to be Live

• Haliburton Dance Academy

• JM Tree Service

• Smokin’ Jakes BBQ Shack

• Walker’s Home Hardware

• On the Spot Variety

Not-for-Profit of the Year*

• Bark Lake Cultural Developments

• Fuel for Warmth

• Haliburton & District Lions Club

• Haliburton County Snowmobile Association

• SIRCH Community Services

Skilled Trades & Industry*

• Chaulk Woodworking

• Positive Media Productions

• Timestone Marble & Granite

Tourism & Hospitality*

• Heather Lodge

• Stouffer Mill Bed & Breakfast

• Yours Outdoors

• Miner’s Bay Lodge

• Haliburton Driving Range & The Mulligan Club

• Sir Sam’s Ski & Ride

• Smokin’ Jakes BBQ Shack

• Spa in the Highlands

*Some nominations still pending acceptance

Congratulations to all the nominees on this prestigious honour!

All of the nominees will be recognized during a ceremony at the gala on Saturday Feb. 27 at Pinestone Resort. The award recipients will be announced in a ceremony following the nominee recognition.

The event is open to the public and tickets go on sale Monday Feb. 1. The cost is $70. You can contact Autumn Smith by email at or call 705-457-4700 to reserve your tickets. Over 200 people attended the sold-out event last year and we are expecting tickets to sell quickly again this year.