HHSS student elected as school board trustee

Published May 16 2017

The Trillium Lakelands District School Board student trustee for the 2017-2018 school year was elected by G7 Student Senate members at the G7 Student Leadership Conference on April 28.

Madeline Hopkins – a Grade 11 student from Haliburton Highlands Secondary School – has now stepped into the role formerly held by 2016 – 2017 student trustee Carmen Galea also from Haliburton Highlands Secondary School.

“At the G7 Student Leadership Conference I realized that we were all going to work together to create real change and impact others in a positive way” says Madeline. “I feel both incredibly lucky and extremely excited because I know that amazing things are going to happen and I have the privilege of being a big part of it.”

Madeline enjoys sports such as volleyball badminton and soccer. Through sports she has gained leadership skills and values teamwork.

Madeline attended the Me to We Leadership Camp in the summer of 2016 and says that experience gave her the confidence to run for the student trustee position. She is most excited to work together with others and drive positive changes that will benefit all students. Madeline loves biology and plans on pursuing post-secondary education in general science.

“We’re pleased to welcome Madeline as the new 2017 – 2018 student trustee” says Larry Hope director of education. “We look forward to hearing Madeline’s monthly reports providing student voice from across the district.”

”I’d like to welcome Madeline to the board table” says Louise Clodd chair of the board “Her role will be to represent the G7 Student Senate and provide a unique viewpoint and context to the decisions we make as a school board.”

The G7 Student Senate is comprised of one student elected from each TLDSB secondary school. The team meets regularly to discuss issues challenges and achievements at each of the schools. The student trustee then compiles all information and brings a student perspective to school board meetings and to the Ontario Student Trustee Association (OSTA-AECO).
Submitted by TLDSB