Aaron Walker Nancy Wood-Roberts to run for Dysart et al council

By Angelica Ingram

Published Aug. 14 2018

July 27 marked the deadline for candidates to file nomination papers in the upcoming municipal election.

With the final few candidates submitting their paperwork there is now a race for every position in Dysart. Running against John Smith in Ward 4 is Aaron Walker owner of McKecks restaurant in Haliburton.

Walker told the paper he has decided to run for council due to his background in financial management community involvement and poverty reduction strategies which he believes will make him a perfect fit for municipal management.

Born in Toronto Walker moved to Haliburton with his wife and three kids to be closer to his mother.
“My mom moved to the Blairhampton area in 1997 and I visited frequently and thought of the possibility of moving here” he said. “Since we have moved here I have been heavily involved with the community coordinating Food for Kids volunteering at various events hosting a free Christmas day meal at our restaurant. Recently Melissa and I deepened our ties to the community  purchasing McKecks Tap and Grill where we are fortunate to have a fantastic staff.”

If elected some of the things Walker would like to focus on are inclusionary zoning considered as a framework for further housing development incremental support/funding for mental health services for youth increased promotion and support for local agriculture and a new bylaw regulating short term rentals.

Looking to reclaim her seat in Ward 1 is Nancy Wood-Roberts. The councillor sat on council previous to this past term and says she thoroughly enjoys it.

“I hope to retire in 2019 which would allow me to continue to dedicate the time required” she wrote in an email to the paper. “I have worked full time as a registered nurse at HHHS. It wasn’t always easy juggling schedules so I became a weekend worker (yes working every weekend) so I could dedicate the time required for the last term.”

Born in Haliburton Wood-Roberts was exposed to municipal life early on as her father was the clerk-treasurer for Dysart et al. She says if she were elected there are many priorities to tackle during the next four years including “protecting our environment affordable housing a sustainable economy creating a welcoming warm and safe community with activities for all ages and abilities.”

Mayor: Murray Fearrey Andrea Roberts
Deputy mayor: Dennis Casey Patrick Kennedy
Councillor Ward 1: Bram Lebo Nancy Wood-Roberts
Councillor Ward 2: Larry Clarke David McKay Mike Stinson
Councillor Ward 3: Cindy Baumhour Tammy Donaldson
Councillor Ward 4: John Smith Aaron Walker
Councillor Ward 5: Walt McKechnie Glenn Scott
School board trustee: Gary Brohman